金融服务(Bank, financial services and insurance,BFSI)正在经历一场剧变。AI、物联网、区块链与其它新兴技术,加上不断改变的客户期望与偏好,正在重新定义着金融机构应该如何提供服务。银行、保险公司和资产管理公司正在努力转型为金融科技(Fintech),朝更为灵活的经营模式前进,以满足不断改变的科技与法规程序。

自2015年以来,金融机构已在数字创新方面投资了超过270亿美元。但随着数字化转型,IT信息角色也不断地向前进步。因为企业在设计相关金融服务时,如果为抢占市场先机赶着推出产品,相关的安全问题却未防护周全,一旦发生问题,严重的话甚至可能要将整个业务推倒重新来过,所以,信息安全不但需要往前行,甚至需要开始与业务运营紧密结合。

金融科技市场预计从2017年到2025年以10.1%的年复合成长率扩大,到2025年估计将达到489.5亿美元。金融科技的成长因素除了金融创新业务的考虑,使IT信息人员在企业的定位产生转变外,网络攻击事件亦层出不穷,这些因素为金融科技带来可观的成长。

(参考数据: Mordor Intelligence, Allied market research, Cision PR news)

信用卡事务数据外泄、ATM遭破解盗领、虚拟货币交易所遭骇等使企业及用户损失惨重等事件层出不穷,在交易型态变得更加便利却也带来更多的风险时,若不能找到长期有效的解决方案,对金融科技的发展实为一大阻碍。

以金融支付方面的安全应用而言,用户终端装置之主要功能在于处理实时交易内容、并透过网络取得金融服务器的授权。在事务处理过程中,数据安全运算、安全传输与避免信息残留则需有硬件安全功能设计来防止黑客藉由硬件或软件设计缺失来侧录机密数据。

PUFsecurity开发之安全功能运用的核心技术-NeoPUF有着高质量的随机性与不可预测性,是一个理想的熵源。其先天物理性微变(inborn physical microvariation)可作为UID,也可以应用于真随机随机数生成( tRNG)、验证、PUF-based加密等地方来保护交易安全。NeoPUF技术无需复杂的辅助设计即能发挥良好功效,我们的IP 功能设计亦具有低耗能、易于采用、价格实惠等特性。在功能设计弹性上,亦能为客户提供客制化的服务,金融产业内大中小型企业和新创服务公司,皆能在PUFsecurity找到相应合适的解决方案。

随着电子商务载具、智能手机的普及,行动支付已成为日常生活的一部分。每笔交易中往来于行动终端与银行服务器的金融信息与个人认证数据俨然成为黑客觊觎的目标。若位于关键位置的边缘装置或终端设备能采用其硬件内部生成的密钥 (如PUF技术)来保护金融运作的机密信息,自然就能提升金融服务的安全性。为了了解保护服务器与系统所需的内容,以及如何侦测、防御网络威胁,我们建议参考FIPS 3级和4级所公布的标准

以物联网、金融云端服务器为例,服务器担负处理来自不同终端设备的责任;实务运作上,较其他装置面对更多黑客攻击的威胁,因此除了Level1与Level2的被动性防御要求外,还需要有level 3 至 level 4主动防护运作核心与实时运算力来侦测、辨别可能的攻击行为。

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

The Bank, Financial Services, and Insurance (BFSI) industries are currently going through some drastic changes. AI, IoT, blockchain, and other newer technologies compounded with changes of client expectations and preferences, are redefining how financial institutions provide services. Banks, insurance companies, and asset management agencies are transitioning to Fintech and moving towards a more flexible business model to adapt to the ever-changing technological advancements and legal protocol of the times.

 

Since 2015, financial institutions have already invested over $27 billion USD in its digital makeover. However, as this transition is happening, the IT industry is also making major strides. If financial services are released into the market prematurely without appropriate security safeguards just for the sake of establishing market presence, businesses risk losing everything to any problems or attacks that they’ll encounter. Therefore, not only does information security need to lead the way, but also needs to be closely integrated with business operations.

 

Forecasts predict that the Fintech market will grow by a CAGR of 10.1% every year from 2017 to 2025, with a net market value of $48.95 USD by 2025. As the financial sector transforms, Fintech also faces an endless stream of cyberattacks. Additional investments were made to combat these threats, leading to growth in the Fintech market.

[Ref: Mordor Intelligence, Allied market research, Cision PR news]

Credit card details leaked, ATM machines hacked, Bitcoin transactions compromised. All these incidents of victimized corporations and users are just a few of the common headlines that can be found on the news today. With new convenience comes new risks. Until a long-term solution is found, security concerns will always impede the growth of Fintech. During a transaction, a user’s device’s main function is to handle the exchange and receive authorization from the server through the internet. It is thus essential to implement hardware security in order to run the encryption algorithms and preventative procedures needed to avoid data breaches.

 

The core IP (NeoPUF) behind PUFsecurity’s solutions is an ideal entropy source with high-quality of randomness and unpredictability. Its inborn physical microvariation can be used as an UID, and has transaction protection through measures such as tRNG, authentication and PUF-based cryptography. PUF technology can function effectively without complex auxiliary designs and our IP function design is easy to adopt, cost-efficient, and low-power consumption. We also provide flexible, customized services tailored to any Fintech enterprise. Large or small-sized, startup or established, everyone can find the appropriate security solutions in PUFsecurity.

As electronic business devices and smartphones become prevalent, mobile payment has already become indispensable to daily life. However, the personal information and financial details involved in every transaction between a user’s device and the bank’s servers have also become the coveted prize of hackers stalking in the shadows. If each edge device could utilize some innate key in its hardware (with PUF technology, for example) to protect the information transmitted during these transactions, financial services will be more secure. In order to understand what is needed to protect servers and systems as well as detect and defend from cyber threats, we recommend referring to the standards disclosed under FIPS Levels 3 and 4.

Let’s take the IoT and Fintech cloud servers for instance, the servers are responsible for processing requests from different devices. Practically, they’re also more prone to the threat of cyberattacks. Therefore, aside from the passive defenses required under FIPS Levels 1 and 2, the active defensive measures under Levels 3 and 4 are also necessary to detect and recognize potential attacks.