摘要

一般来说,Unique Identity(UID)是储存在每个独立芯片上的唯一标识符。有了此标识符,芯片可以生成一个密钥根来生成密钥,或用于芯片识别的外部明文编号。UID也可以作为装置身分识别,用于身分认证与认证演算,其中包括保护装置,免于遭受未经授权的存取或复制。然而,密钥注入形式的UID有机密外泄和产品被复制的风险。

 

PUFsecurity提供了另一种方法,为芯片UID乘载机密。PUFuid将提取NeoPUF值作为UID,这整个过程在芯片内部完成。与通过密钥注入所生成的常规UID相比,PUFuid大大降低了成本,并消除了密钥注入过程中暴露机密信息的风险。

由内部信任根所生成之芯片密码: PUFuid

一般来说,生成UID的过程称为密钥注入,三个主要步骤为:注册,身份验证和配置。 UID的主要目的是标识出每个芯片的唯一性、验证其可靠性、追踪芯片并创造一个能辨识其来源的数据轨迹。使用密钥注入法来执行UID,过程中需要昂贵的安全设施和一组标准操作程序,来确保UID的安全。

 

与密钥注入不同,PUFuid采用内嵌的NeoPUF值作为芯片的唯一标识符。NeoPUF值即是来自于在制造过程中产生的微小结构差异,因此NeoPUF值将因不同芯片而有所相异。NeoPUF的数值是无法被复制或是预测,因此,可以将其视为芯片的指纹。PUFuid为每个芯片提供了独一无二的密码,以保护选定的数据或数据,它还能做为身份验证的序号,因此,透过UID与其他加密算法或通讯协议结合,服务器和给定芯片之间的通信将有别于于其他芯片与服务器间的互动。

产品优势

由于NeoPUF具有理想的随机性、稳定性和可靠性,因此PUFuid所生成的身份是独特、稳固、不可复制的。此外, NeoPUF于全球各地的芯片代工厂皆有技术生产平台,并且与常规逻辑CMOS程序兼容,无需任何额外的光罩,因此很容易纳入芯片设计中。

 

PUFuid少了外部密钥注入的缺点,同时保护了每个芯片的唯一身份。使用嵌入式NeoPUF在芯片内部生成UID,确保了每个芯片上的UID都是唯一的,并且此身份机密不会在生成过程中被泄露。

 

另外,仅当系统需要UID时,才可以提取其值。由于NeoPUF近乎完美的可靠性,无论是在甚么情况下,每一次UID的重建都会是唯一且机密的。因此,不再需要存储机密的内存,同时,也因为它无法被盗取或复制,降低了机密身分曝光的风险。

产品特点

  • 接近完美的随机性和唯一性,其汉明加权和汉明距离皆为50%。

  • 按照需求生成密钥,用于生成芯片内密钥或芯片外序号。

  • 终生零误码率的可靠度和在不同情况下的稳定性(操作温度:-40〜175∘C)

  • 兼容各种CMOS程序。

参考规格

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

Abstract

Unique identity (UID) is an identifier that is generally stored on each chip. With this UID, chips can generate an internal secret as a seed for key generation or root key and an external plaintext number for chip identification or product series number. UID can also be used as the device’s identity for authentication and authorization algorithms, which includes protection of a device or content from unauthorized access or cloning. However, UID through injection runs the risk of leaked secrets and product cloning.

 

PUFsecurity provides another methodology for chip UID to contain unique secrets. PUFuid will extract a NeoPUF value as the UID, which is all done inside the chip. In comparison with conventional UID generation through the key-injection process, PUFuid significantly reduces cost and eliminates the risk of secret exposure during the injection process.

Generating chip secrets with inborn root-of-trust: PUFuid

The normal process to generate a UID is called key injection, which has three major steps: enrollment, authentication and provisioning. The main goals for a UID is to uniquely identify and reliably authenticate each chip, to track a chip and to create an audit trail that establishes its origin. To keep the secret UID safe, with the key injection method, an expensive security facility and a standard set of operating procedures are required in order to perform this process.

 

Unlike key injection, PUFuid extracts an embedded NeoPUF value to use as the chip’s unique identity. NeoPUF’s value varies from chip to chip due to the native variations that arise during the manufacturing of chips. NeoPUF is virtually impossible to be cloned or predicted. Therefore, it can be viewed as a chip’s fingerprint. Derived from this unique fingerprint, PUFuid provides each chip with its own unique secret to protect selected data and a plaintext number UID for authentication when passed to the server. Therefore, a conversation between a server and a chip is distinct from every other chip that interacts with the server.

Benefit

Due to the ideal randomness, robustness and reliability of NeoPUF, the unique identity generated by PUFuid is distinct, robust, and unclonable. Moreover, since NeoPUF is available across worldwide foundries and is compatible with regular logic CMOS processes without the need for any extra mask layers, it is very easy to adopt in a chip design.

 

PUFuid eliminates the drawbacks of external key injection while protecting the unique identity of each chip. With embedded NeoPUF, a UID will be generated inside each chip and will be unique from chip to chip. There is no risk of revealing the UID during the generation process.

 

In addition, only when the UID is needed by the system can the value be extracted. Due to the perfect reliability of NeoPUF, a unique secret is reconstructed every time, under many different circumstances. Therefore, memory for secret storage is no longer needed, which also lessens the risk of revealing a unique identity by ensuring that it cannot be stolen and cloned.

Key Features

  • Unpredictable randomness and uniqueness for UID with 50% Hamming weight and Hamming distance

  • On-demand keys for on-chip secret and off-chip ID generation

  • Reliability of lifetime zero Bit-Error-Rate and robustness of working under different circumstances (Temp: -40~175∘C )

  • Compatible with a large range of normal CMOS processes (7nm~150nm), available across worldwide foundries

Reference Spec.