人工智能将是未来信息安全上举足轻重的角色,结合大数据、深度学习(deep learning)以及机器学习(machine learning),赋予机器生命、可以模仿人类学习与工作。在信息安全的领域中,人工智能对攻击方以及防御方都是有利的武器。AI已经被企业大量用于商业营运中,一旦被黑客知道模型如何训练和运作,就能藉由破坏训练模型的数据来操控模型。在防御端,最常见的AI资安应用是「预测分析」(predictive analytics),也就是藉由机器学习分析大量数据,从中找出异常。

 

人工智能的市场预计从2017年到2025年以31.38%的年复合成长率扩大,到2025年估计将达到348.1亿美元。人工智能市场主要成长之十大应用产业,依序为:电信、消费、广告、商业服务、医疗保健、零售、汽车、法律、公共部门、保险等等要素,皆为人工智能带来可观的成长。

 

 (參考資料: Mordor Intelligence, Allied market research, Cision PR news)

想象未来在商场、娱乐场所、医疗中心等各式各样的场合,处处可见智能机器人提供服务的身影,随着科技逐渐进步,智能机器人能执行的工作更加复杂,也更加亲近人们生活范围的私密领域……如果有黑客正透过智能机器人双眼监视着你家中的一举一动,又或者在医院执行照护服务的智能机器人,突然失控开始攻击病患……其情境令人不寒而栗。

 

硬件安全在AI领域中的应用有许多面向,概括如下:一是保护AI设计中重要的智能资产,如大数据、算法等;二是保护AI机器在执行深度学习或任务执行时,不受恶意第三方的入侵,暗中捣乱学习机制及行为表现;三是保护AI技术运用领域中会涉及的相关信息,如个人医疗隐私、通讯隐私、消费信息等。

上述保护机制,可透过PUFsecurity所开发的PUF-based UID, 加密法和认证等功能获得实现。基于其所运用的是PUF的先天物理微变(inborn physical microvariation),可兼顾稳定性、不可预测性、稳定性等特性,为AI机器提供长久稳定的安全保护。另一方面,考虑AI开发需要大量的软件更新,为避免软件更新程序成为第三方传播恶意软件的途径,纳入硬件安全防护,也可与其软件做区隔及分层防护。

在人工智能常见的应用情景为利用大数据训练过的模块和算法来对数据进行解读与分析,并转化成对使用者的智能型服务。训练完的算法在应用时自然需要与硬件载具融合成为完整的安全运作体系。此时人工智能装置需要有私钥来绑定算法know-how方能保护商务运作模式,建议部属FIPS Level 3以上的安全防护机制。

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

© 2019 PUFsecurity  All Rights Reserved

Incorporating Big Data, deep learning, and machine learning, Artificial Intelligence (AI) seeks to enable machines to work and learn like humans do. In the field of information security, AI both bolsters cyberattack effectiveness and reinforces data protection ability, proving to be crucial for cybersecurity in the future. AI has already been integrated into the business operations of enterprises everywhere. However, hackers can infiltrate and manipulate the AI once they obtain the confidential data such as authentication information and training modules. On the defensive side, AI is most commonly applied in predictive analytics, where it uses machine learning to analyze large amounts of data to find anomalies.

 

The AI market expects to grow 31.38% every year from 2017 and is predicted to hit $34.8 billion USD by 2025. The main industries that grow the AI market such as telecom, transactions, advertising, business services, healthcare, retail, automotive, legal services, public sectors, and insurance all bring considerable growth to the AI market.

[Ref: Mordor Intelligence, Allied market research, Cision PR news]

Imagine a future where smart robots can be seen working alongside humans everywhere from shopping malls, to stores, to workplaces and even hospitals. As technology advances, the tasks that these robots can perform increases in complexity and brings them closer to people’s living spaces. Suppose that some unsavory character stalks and monitors you constantly through the eyes of the robot that they hijacked, or one peaceful night the robots that are on caretaker duty in a hospital loses control and harms the patients. Well, doesn’t that make you shudder?

 

Hardware security in the field of AI has many applications. Firstly, it protects the intellectual assets, big data, and algorithms that are essential to AI design and operation. Secondly, it defends malicious invasion from third parties while AI machines are going through deep learning or conducting missions. Thirdly, it provides secure storage for sensitive data such as business confidential information, or personal privacy in healthcare, consumption or telecommunication.

 

The applications mentioned above can be achieved through functions such as PUFsecurity’s PUF-based UID, cryptography, and authentication. Due to NeoPUF’s robust, unpredictable, and stable features, it can provide AI machines with secure and long-lasting safeguards. Furthermore, as AI requires a large amount of software updates, our hardware security can also provide layered safeguards to prevent AI machines from getting infected via malware when updating procedures.

Usually, AI-involved smart services are those using trained modules and Big Data to analyze information and transfer them into delicate reactions. Ideally, trained AI algorithms should be seamlessly integrated with its own hardware security module for a completely secure operating system. We recommend that the AI follows security standards FIPS Level 3 or higher, which not only helps protect the intellectual property but also set up alert and reaction process for better safeguards.